Go Pro!

Go Back   The Church Media Community > Audio > Live Audio
Forgot Password?
                          Register

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thursday, March 10th, 2011, 02:59 PM
Church Media Regular

Church mixing philosophy/guidelines

I am starting to mix for our church services. I am a beginner level. I have some thoughts on mixing for our church services and figured I'd run them by you and see what you think.

In no particular order:

1. This is worship not a performance - so i will mix the lead singer just a little louder than the congregation (our people sing, and it is a very live space) The back up singers at about the same level as the congregation, unless they are doing parts then maybe a little above the congregation.

As we have acoustic piano and drums I do need to keep the lead singer, guitar and backup singers in line with them. Yes the drum can be to loud

2. If a back-up singer is off key, has a cold or just not doing well I will hide them in the mix.

3. I will have everything ready, cables neat, mics set-up when the team arrives to practice. And I will be at practice.

4. I will over time change/add pieces of the sound system to improve it (probably asking for advice on this later) This will be a process as a church of 60 I will end up paying for most of this myself on top of my tithes.

5. (Should probably be #1) I will follow the pastors direction, If I can not then I will discuss why with him.
Reply With Quote Start a New Topic From This Comment
Old Thursday, March 10th, 2011, 03:13 PM
iOS Team Leader

That reminds me of one time I was back in the sound booth during worship (I'm usually on the platform singing.) I really couldn't hear the choir in the mix so I asked our sound guy to turn them up. He quickly soloed the choir submix and handed me headphones.

I gave it a quick listen then said, "Oh."
Old Thursday, March 10th, 2011, 03:58 PM
Church Media Regular