Go Pro!

Go Back   The Church Media Community > Audio > Live Audio
Forgot Password?
                          Register

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Friday, January 28th, 2011, 05:11 AM
New Church Media Member

how do i hook up aux monitors with a power amp

Hi I'm new to live audio and usually only am a worship leader but have been trying to improve our set up and I have a question about auxs and monitors

So we have our mixer(not powered) hooked up to our power amp and our main monitors hooked up to the back of that through a speakon connection I was wondering how to hook up auxs for personal monitors when I don't have any more connections on the power amp

I havnt really tried yet but would I just hook up the monitors through the snake thats plugged into the mixer or does it have to go directly through the power amp
Reply With Quote Start a New Topic From This Comment
Old Friday, January 28th, 2011, 06:10 AM
Church Media Expert

Welcome to CMN.

It depends upon whether your foldback monitors are powered or not. The aux output from the mixer desk will usually be at a line level. If your monitors are powered (contain an amplifier) then the aux signal from the mixer could be fed back down the snake to the line input of your powered monitors (this is the same configuration that we have).

If your monitors are not powered - you will need a separate amplifier. If you mouint the amplifier near the monitors, you can still route the line level signal down the snake to the amplier and then to the monitors. If you want to locate the amplifier near the mixer desk - you will need to connect the mixer desk aux out to the amplifier and then (via speaker cable) to the monitor. The speaker cable must be kept as short as practicable and should be routed separately to the snake (which carries low level signals).

If you can supply the exact type of equipment you have - we will be able to provide some more concrete recommendations.

Dave