![]() Equipping You to Communicate Effectively | support CMN & share a library of 19K+ images, videos, etc Go Pro! |
![]() | ![]() |
| |||||||
![]() |
| | Thread Tools | Search this Thread | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
| |||
| Techsoup Has anyone used TechSoup to get lower cost software for your church? I was told about this site and wanted to know if (1) this is a legit company (they are asking for our tax ID number and I don't want to turn over that info to someone trying to scam people) and (2) has anyone had any experiences with using them? Thanks |
| ||||
| I don't know about TechSoup specifically, but I do know that non-profit discounts are legit and a legit site will have to ask for your tax id number to sell at the non-profit rate.
__________________ Joel Osborn Milton SDB Church "...if we are to glorify God fully, we must engage our mind in knowing him truly and our hearts in loving him duly." - John Piper, Think |
| ||||
| They are legit. I am registered with them. Unfortunately, churches do not qualify for most of their programs, because we do not comply with their requirements. We can, for example discriminate in hiring.
__________________ ~Phil Graves Co-Owner ChurchMedia.net Owner All Saints Media Follow me on Twitter |
| |||
| Yup - I can't get Microsoft licensing through TechSoup, but Microsoft will set up an Open Charity license with a steep discount through their resellers. I also now automatically ask if vendors have non-profit or charity pricing. More often than not I get a positive response and lower price - so be sure to ask! |
| |||
| As skstarkiller said, not all vendors will approve a religious organization. This applies regardless of which broker you use (techsoup being one of them) One of their vendors, Cisco, has requirements that must churches cannot meet due to religious reasons. So be sure to do your homework before assuming you can get any of the gear/software listed on their site at non-profit pricing.
__________________ - Andrew |
| |||
| I've used www.ccbnonprofits.com |